yahoo! finally shuts down phishing site

Written by jlgaddis on January 10, 2006 – 8:11 pm -

As a follow-up to my previous article, “Yahoo! Hosting Phishing Site”, Yahoo! has finally shut down the phishing site.

After initially reporting it, I got back a response yesterday (one day later):

Hello,

Thank you for writing to Yahoo! Domains.

Thank you for informing us of possible abuse on Yahoo! GeoCities. We have investigated the site and taken the necessary action. We appreciate your concern and thank you for reporting this incident to Yahoo!.

Please continue to notify us of any content you believe violates the GeoCities Terms of Service, located at:

http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/geoterms.html

Your Yahoo! ID and password are your own confidential information. No Yahoo! employee will ever ask you for your password or personal information in an unsolicited phone call or email message. If you are ever asked for your password in an unsolicited manner, or by someone you do not believe to be a representative of Yahoo!, do not share your password with them.

For more helpful information on password scams as well as information on how to protect your password, visit:

http://security.yahoo.com/password_scams.html

For additional information on ways to protect your information online, please visit the Yahoo! Security Center at:

http://security.yahoo.com

Regards,

mila

Yahoo! Customer Care http://www.yahoo.com/

Well, I took a look and guess what? The site was still running.

I work in the I.T. department at a State College. We have a help desk. We have trouble ticket software that we use for tracking issues. It sends out e-mails similar to this when we close a ticket, meaning it is done, resolved, fixed. Am I wrong for expecting the same thing from Yahoo!? I mean, if they write me and tell me it’s taken care of, it should be taken care of, no?

Anyways, I hit “Reply”…

Yahoo! Domains wrote: > Thank you for informing us of possible abuse on Yahoo! GeoCities. We > have investigated the site and taken the necessary action. We > appreciate your concern and thank you for reporting this incident to > Yahoo!.

Oh, really? It looks to me that the site is still there. May I ask what that “necessary action” was?

…and almost immediately got a bounce (I mentioned they block using the RBLs).

So I forwarded it to my work e-mail account and then resent from there. Never got a reply, but as of today, the site is no longer operational.

Thanks, I think.

Share and Enjoy:
  • StumbleUpon
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • del.icio.us
  • Twitter

Tags: , | No Comments »

Leave a Comment